Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeMoreFootballPFA Awards announced, Kevin de Bruyne and Alexander Arnold win men's honours

PFA Awards announced, Kevin de Bruyne and Alexander Arnold win men’s honours

- Advertisement -

The PFA awards for the 2019-20 season were declared with Kevin de Bruyne being crowned as the PFA Men’s Player Of The Year while Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold winning the PFA Young Player Of The Year. 

De Bruyne became the first player from Manchester City to be bestowed with the award after a stellar season which saw him equal Thierry Henry’s record for most assists in a season. Apart from the 20 assists, the playmaker registered 13 goals in the Premier League this season.

- Advertisement -

De bruyne

The 29-year-old fought off competition from teammate Raheem Sterling and the Liverpool quartet of Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane, Jordan Henderson and Andrew Robertson.

- Advertisement -

De Bruyne speaks out after award win

Kevin de Bruyne expressed his delight after winning the prestigious reward and termed it as the ultimate honour to be judged by your peers. He said:

It’s a huge honour. To be voted for by your colleagues and competitors from other teams who you play against for best player is amazing. It’s strange that I’m the first [male] one at City given all the good players that have played here before and who are still playing here but it’s nice to represent the club. I think it is [the ultimate honour] because you compete against fellow professionals.” De Bruyne added

- Advertisement -

He also reserved praise for his manager Pep Guardiola and credited him for trusting in him as a player. He added:

“Most of the time he just lets me be me,” he said. “He just knows when he gives the orders that I’ll listen. On the other side, he gives me a lot of freedom.” De Bruyne concluded

Trent Alexander Arnold adds another jewel onto his crown

The young right-back broke his own tally of 12 assists after registering one more than his previous best this season. After beating Marcus Rashford, Mason Greenwood, Bukayo Saka, Mason Mount and Tammy Abraham for the award, Arnold claimed that he is proud of the achievement. He said:

“Being a part of the names that I’ve seen on here, and to be a part of such an amazing trophy and be able to receive it, is an unbelievable honour for me and my family. It’s something we’ll always be proud of,” Arnold said

“These types of awards, when it’s voted by people who have played against you and can maybe admire or respect the things you do on the pitch, is amazing.

“It’s a big thanks to all those that voted for me and have decided I deserve this trophy. It’s a big thanks to them. It’s huge for me to achieve this and it’s something I’ll never forget.” Arnold concluded

On the other hand, Chelsea’s Beth England was crowned as the PFA Women’s Player Of The Year.

Thank you to everyone who voted for me. The team cohesion as a group, we fought for everything we had. The girls were tremendous, thankfully we had a great year and hopefully, it continues.” 

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out
Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

Crazy priority: 28-year old plays Football Manager, on his wedding day!

- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -

Subscribe to get notified for latest news and updates

Latest Articles

More from author

- Advertisment -