F1 Portuguese GP results: Lewis Hamilton registers 92nd win, surpasses Michael Schumacher’s record

Lewis Hamilton
Advertisement - Please Continue to Read Below

Lewis Hamilton reached the finish line first and has won The Formula 1 Portuguese Grand Prix that took place in the Algarve International Circuit in Portimão.

Lewis Hamilton wins the Portuguese Grand Prix and breaks record

Lewis Hamilton

Advertisement - Please Continue to Read Below

With the win, Lewis Hamilton has marked a record 92nd Formula One victory and has officially eclipsed the record of Michael Schumacher. He now holds the record of most wins in the history of Formula 1.

Lewis Hamilton won from pole position at Algarve International Circuit in Portimao and has become the standalone record holder. He had eqaualled the record of Michael Schumacher at Formula 1 Eifel Grand Prix on October 11.

Lewis Hamilton reached this number of victories on his 262nd F1 race start, while Michael Schumacher reached the 91-win mark at his 247th start at the 2006 Chinese Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton reflected on his victory following the race. He said, “Today was tough. It was all about temperatures, and with the setup I pre-empted it. We got some slipping at the start. Into turn seven I got a huge oversteer moment, so I backed off massively … I knew I could come back later on.”

On surpassing Schumacher’s wins record he said, “It’s going to take some time for it to fully sink in. I’m still very much in race mode mentally. I can’t find the words at the moment.”

This is the first time the Portuguese Grand Prix took place since 1996. At the event Jacques Villeneuve took a thrilling victory and outraced his team-mate Damon Hill.

ALSO READ: F1 Eifel GP results: Lewis Hamilton wins Nürburgring, equals Michael Schumacher’s record

Check out the standings below:

1. Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Bottas (Mercedes)
3. Verstappen (Red Bull)
4. Leclerc (Ferrari)
5. Gasly (AlphaTauri)
6. Sainz (McLaren)
7. Pérez (Racing Point)
8. Ocon (Renault)
9. Ricciardo (Renault)
10. Vettel (Ferrari)
11. Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo)
12. Albon (Red Bull)
13. Norris (McLaren)
14. Russell (Williams)
15. Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo)
16. Magnussen (Haas)
17. Grosjean (Haas)
18. Latifi (Williams)
19. Kvyat (AlphaTauri)

Emilia Romagna Grand Prix is set to take place on November 1 at Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari in Imola.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

Also Read:

Michael Jordan announces purchase of new NASCAR Cup Series team, Bubba Wallace roped in as driver of new outfit from 2021

F1: Valteri Bottas closes gap on teammate Lewis Hamilton by winning the Russian GP in Sochi