Wednesday, June 26, 2024
HomeMoreFootballGuardiola hits out on the individual awards system in England after Henderson...

Guardiola hits out on the individual awards system in England after Henderson named FWA Player of the year

- Advertisement -

Pep Guardiola has gone on a rant about the misleading individual awards system in England as once again a Liverpool player has won the FWA award.

The skies certainly seem bluer for the Reds after they got their hands on the ever-elusive Premier League trophy for the first time in 30 years and now Liverpool players are dominating the individual awards too.

- Advertisement -

However, the fact that infuriates Guardiola is that in spite of City winning the League for the past 2 seasons, Liverpool players have been dominating the award ceremonies.

De Bruyne denied again

Henderson edges out De Bruyne to win FWA player of the year-

The Football Writers Association (FWA )prize, decided by its members, assesses the best performer across the season in English football but also gives considerable weight to matters off the field, awarding the honor “to the professional player who by precept and example is considered by a ballot of members to be the footballer of the year.

- Advertisement -

Also read:

De Bruyne and Henderson along with Mane, Sterling, and Van Dijk were among the frontrunners, with each of them having a stellar season. However, Henderson edged out all competition, beating his nearest rival De Bruyne by a margin of 80 votes.

- Advertisement -

Manchester City playmaker De Bruyne has been having a stellar season ever since his return from injury and has scored 11 goals and has had 19 assists to his name so far this season.1 more assist and he would equal Thierry Henry’s record of most assists in a single season. However, all this failed to secure him the award, and Pep Guardiola, the Man City boss was expectedly livid.

Guardiola has been speaking out on the PFA awards, with the big honor of PFA Player of the Year set to be announced in the coming weeks.

“No no, it will be won by a Liverpool player,” Guardiola told the BBC this week when asked for his thoughts.

“When we won the Premier Leagues it was won by a Liverpool player. When they win the Premier League I’m pretty sure they are going to win the player of the season, so this award is always for Liverpool,” he added.

There definitely is an ounce of truth is Guardiola’s statements as even at times when City won the League, Liverpool have taken home the individual spoils. In 2018, Salah edged out De Bruyne and in 2019 Van Dijk beat Raheem Sterling for the PFA player of the year. The only saving grace for City was Sterling’s FWA player of the year award last year.

The PFA Player of the Year award, as picked by players, is expected to be announced shortly with De Bruyne also a leading contender for that.

What’s next for Guardiola and his men-

In spite of Man City missing out on the League and individual honors this season, Guardiola’s men remain a firm favorite in the champions league. They already have a crucial 2-1 lead against Real Madrid going into the 2nd leg and there is no club with a better squad depth and technical quality than Man City at the moment.

If Guardiola can somehow inspire his team to a CL victory then all these domestic blemishes would surely be forgotten by players as well as the fans.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

Also Read:

Liverpool star Fabinho’s house robbed during title celebration




- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -

Subscribe to get notified for latest news and updates

Latest Articles

More from author

- Advertisment -