Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeMoreFootballSeventh Heaven: Lionel Messi captures 7th Men's Ballon d'Or Award of his...

Seventh Heaven: Lionel Messi captures 7th Men’s Ballon d’Or Award of his glittering career

- Advertisement -

The football maestro and Paris Saint Germain superstar Lionel Messi has tallied the record-extending seventh Men’s Ballon d’Or title at The Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, France. Messi had won the last edition of the Ballon d’Or in 2019 before last year’s awards were canceled due to the pandemic. He also won in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and in 2015. The 34-year-old scored 38 goals in 48 games last season for Barcelona and won the Copa del Rey before leading Argentina to Copa America glory in July. That marked the first major international title of his legendary career, which had been spent entirely with Barcelona before his heartbreaking departure from the Camp Nou in August and subsequent move to Ligue 1 giants, Paris Saint-Germain.

Lionel Messi wins the Ballon d’Or award for the seventh time in his career

lionel messi ballon

- Advertisement -

Lionel Messi has played just 11 games in the PSG outfit so far and he has netted four goals. He has now won the Ballon d’Or twice more than his old rival Cristiano Ronaldo. Between them they have won 12 of the last 13 editions with the exception coming in 2018 when Luka Modric claimed the prize.

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski finished second while Chelsea and Italy midfielder Jorginho was third in the voting by a jury of journalists from around the world. Ronaldo, meanwhile, came in sixth.

- Advertisement -

Barcelona Women’s Alexia Putellas grabbed the women’s Ballon d’Or, while Pedri won the Kopa Trophy. PSG’s goalkeeping star Gianluigi Donnarumma was awarded the Yashin Trophy.

List of winners from the 2021 Ballon d’Or ceremony in Paris on Monday:

Men’s Ballon d’Or top 10:

1. Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona)

- Advertisement -

2. Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern Munich)

3. Jorginho (ITA/Chelsea)

4. Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid)

5. N’Golo Kante (FRA/Chelsea)

6. Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus – Manchester United)

7. Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool)

8. Kevin De Bruyne (BEL/Manchester City)

9. Kylian Mbappe (FRA/Paris SG)

10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (ITA/AC Milan – Paris SG)

Women’s Ballon d’Or top 10:

1. Alexia Putellas (ESP/Barcelona)

2. Jennifer Hermoso (ESP/Barcelona)

3. Sam Kerr (AUS/Chelsea)

4. Vivianne Miedema (NED/Arsenal)

5. Lieke Martens(NED/Barcelona)

6. Christine Sinclair (CAN/Portland Storms)

7. Pernille Harder (DAN/Chelsea)

8. Ashley Lawrence (CAN/Paris SG)

9. Jessie Fleming (CAN/Chelsea)

10. Fran Kirby (ENG/Chelsea)

Kopa Trophy top 3 (young players):

1. Pedri (ESP/Barcelona)

2. Jude Bellingham (ENG/Borussia Dortmund)

3. Jamal Musiala (GER/Bayern Munich)

Yashin Trophy top 3 (goalkeepers):

1. Gianluigi Donnarumma (ITA/AC Milan – Paris SG)

2. Edouard Mendy (SEN/Chelsea)

3. Jan Oblak (SLO/Atletico Madrid)

- Advertisement -
Bishal Roy
Bishal Roy
Bishal has been working with several renowned publications and has generated sports content for 3+ years. He expresses insightful opinions and analysis having the expertise in writing sports news articles. He has been mainly covering US sports such as NFL, NBA, MLB and more for the website. He also writes for SportsIndiaShow and MMA India. When not writing, he will binge-watch web series.
- Advertisment -

Subscribe to get notified for latest news and updates

Latest Articles

More from author

- Advertisment -