Tuesday, May 21, 2024
HomeFormula 1Lance Stroll opens up after the penalty: “Someone braked at the front...

Lance Stroll opens up after the penalty: “Someone braked at the front of the pack”

- Advertisement -

In the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix, Lance Stroll found himself in a sticky situation. Under the Safety Car, as the field prepared to restart, Lance Stroll collided with the back of Daniel Ricciardo’s RB car. The impact was so forceful that Ricciardo also hit the back of Oscar Piastri’s McLaren.

Lance Stroll’s mistake was astronomical – he accelerated when everyone else was braking, causing the collision. Instead of taking a diplomatic approach, Stroll pointed the finger at Ricciardo and other cars, even calling the Australian driver an “idiot” over team radio. The stewards penalized Stroll with a 10-second penalty and two penalty points on his super license.

- Advertisement -

As per Formula1.com, Stroll said: “Someone braked at the front of the pack, I don’t know who. And then everyone stops. The car in front of me just stopped from like 60 (kph) to zero – so a really stupid incident.

“I got a penalty because of the end result, that I hit Ricciardo. But it’s not like everyone was normal and I just slammed into the back of him.”

- Advertisement -

Penalties and Incidents at the 2024 Chinese Grand Prix Along with Lance Stroll

Lance Stroll

Logan Sargeant, driving for Williams, found himself penalized during the race. He was slapped with a 10-second time penalty for overtaking under safety car conditions. Safety car periods are crucial moments in Formula 1 races, and any infringement can result in penalties that affect a driver’s overall performance.

- Advertisement -

Daniel Ricciardo, racing for Red Bull Racing, had a collision with Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll at Turn 14 hairpin. Stroll caused the collision, and as a result, he received a 10-second penalty. However, Ricciardo himself faced a penalty too. He overtook Haas driver Nico Hulkenberg under safety car conditions, leading to a 10-second penalty. Since Ricciardo retired from the race, a three-place grid penalty was imposed instead. This means that Ricciardo will start three places further back on the grid in the upcoming Sprint race in Miami.

READ MORE: Daniel Ricciardo’s Miami Weekend Starts with a Penalty after A rule break in Chinese GP

- Advertisement -
Moin
Moin
I'm Moin Akhunji, a passionate sports writer renowned for my unique storytelling approach. My expertise spans across various sports, notably NASCAR, F1, and IndyCar. I hold a profound admiration for athletes like Chase Elliott and Dale Earnhardt Jr. When I'm not crafting articles, you'll likely find me trekking in the hills, indulging in my favorite hobby.
- Advertisment -

Subscribe to get notified for latest news and updates

Latest Articles

More from author

- Advertisment -